Paulo Martins is a native of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He has a degree in Architecture from Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro.

He turned to filmmaking in 1968 and has produced and directed many short films, all in 35mm. His feature-length film IPANEMA ADEUS (Goodbye Ipanema) was produced in 1974, with an all-star cast of Brazilian actors such as Hugo Carvana, Bibi Vogel, Monique Lafond.

His short films have received some awards, including:


Paris Biennal, 1968

Brasilia Festival, 1968

Information Exhibit, MOMA, Museum of Modern Art, New York, 1970


Annual Award, Brazilian Architects Institute, IAB, 1970

Paulo Martins is also a musical producer and musician and has recorded many sound tracks for his films, which were composed and performed by well-respected Brazilian musicians, such as Guilherme Vaz, Luis Bonfá and Paulo Moura.

He founded a musical ensemble in 1985 called TEATRO DO SOM (Theater of Sound) which showcases his original compositions, with the participation of many artists such as:

Andrea Ernest Dias (flute), Arthur Cabral (sax), Bernardo Quadros (drums), Carlos Sergipe (percussion), Chico Costa (sax), Dôdo Ferreira (bass), Jorge Degas (bass), Karl Berger (piano, vibes), Karla Sabah (singer), Leandro Verdeal (producer), Lui Coimbra (cello), Marcos Zama (percussion), Margarita Schack Koellreutter (singer), Mike Ryan (trumpet), Papito (bass), Paulo Moura (sax, clarinet), Paulo Muylaert (guitar), Paulo Steinberg (guitar, sitar), Peninha Haikal (percussion), Pernan Santos (guitar), Ricardo Feijão (bass, guitar), Luis Sobral (drums).

Teatro do Som has also collaborated with many dancers, including Carmem Thompson, Ceila Portilho, Giselle Ruiz, Lucia Prata, Maira Mattar, Marcia Collins, Marcia Feijó and Maria Alice Poppe.

He has released 6 (six) albums:

PAISAGENS IMAGINÁRIAS (Imaginary Landscapes), 1997

MÚSICA PARA MEDITAÇÃO (Music for Meditation), 1989/2000

TEATRO DO SOM (Theater of Sound), 2002

CONSTELAÇÕES (Constellations), 2005 (produced by Savalla Records, Rio de Janeiro)

RUMO A SEDNA (Direction to Sedna), 2005 (into partnership with Tomás Improta)

PAULO MOURA AND TEATRO DO SOM, 2010 (released by Biscoito Fino Records, Rio de Janeiro)

CD "Paulo Moura & Teatro do Som" 2010
Leandro Verdeal (producer), Paulo Martins (flute and synth), Paulo Moura (clarinet and compositions), Alex Meirelles (keyboards, voice and compositions).

Teatro do Som in 1985
Ricardo Feijão (bass), Paulo Martins, Carlos Sergipe (percussion), Alex Meirelles (keyboards).

IPANEMA ADEUS (feature-length film, 1974)
Jorge Durán (assistant director), Dileny Campos (director of photography), Ayrton Ventura (key grip), Ulisses Moura (gaffer), Paulo Martins (director), Hugo Carvana (actor) - still phographer Christian Rulhe